Friday, May 19, 2006

And the beat goes on

The Young and the Restless

Wow, more good stuff from the Young and the Restless today. Peter Bergman continues to rock the house as the wounded Jack. He went from determined with Jill to vulnerable with Ashley and his father. Definitely, Emmy worthy performances.

Who is Brad really? I am finally curious. Okay, so what exactly is Victor up to? It is the question of the moment. What game is he playing with Brad, Victoria, Nikki, and Nick? Guess, we'll find out soon enough. The funniest line today was from Neil when he told Dru that Brad had gotten a seat on the Newman board and he said, "at the rate I am going I will be answering to Noah!" Who else just fell out laughing!

The Bold and the Beautiful

What are TPTB doing to the wonderful Stepanie Forrester? Who is this imposter on my screen? What the hell was with that loving tribute to Brooke today? Stephanie gave Brooke half the company and hugged her. I almost puked. Sickening. I want the real Stephanie back, please.

Thursday, May 18, 2006

Y&R shows the way it is done

The Young and the Restless

Is there any doubt that The Young and the Restless is simply the best soap? Nope, none whatsoever. After waiting months for Jack to find out about Phyllis and Nick's affair, I was not let down by the outstanding performances from Peter Bergman (Jack) and Michelle Stafford (Phyllis). Peter Bergman was simply wonderful. He made subtle, but effective acting choices for Jack in the scenes with Phyllis and then later on with Ashley. Kudos to the writers for great dialogue.

So what is up with Victor? What scheme is he putting into motion? I refuse to believe that TPTB at Y&R have done to him what B&B has done to my wonderful Stephanie. Clearly, Victor is setting a trap of some kind for Brad or he already knows Brad's secret.

What a completely enjoyable episode today!

Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Good stuff!

The Young and the Restless

Anyone else on pins and needles as Jack overhead Nick and Brad's confrontation today? Finally, Jack is going to find out how Phyllis was stringing him along all this time, while she was having an affair with Nick.

Guiding Light

Usually there isnt much to say about Guiding Light, but the rough sex between Gus and Harley was intense. Gus has been acting out his inner Spaulding and I have to say that I definitely like this facet of his character. He hasn't had a rough edge since he first came to Springfield.

The Bold and Beautiful


I'm sure that you are gagging with me over FauxStephanie fawning all over Brooke. Ugh. Totally sickening.

Tuesday, May 16, 2006

Even less

The only soap that stood out today was:

One Life to Live

Dan Gauthier continues to do outstanding work as he (Kevin) berated Kelly for her role in Duke's death and struggled with his own guilt. I loved Paul Satterfield's protrayal of Spencer also. It was like the writers finally decided to make him human by letting us see his inner turmoil. The shower scenes with Blair were hot and steamy.

Monday, May 15, 2006

Not much really

One Life to Live

Kudos to Dan Gauthier for doing a bang up job with this horrible storyline. It was heartbreaking to watch Kevin call LeeAnn to tell her that Duke was dead.

The Young and Restless


What is up with Brad and Victoria crapping all over Neil today? Gloria, Gloria ... I think I'll be muttering that woman's name in my sleep in fustration.

The Bold and Beautiful


The scenes with Stephanie, Brooke and Ridge in his hospital room were simply hilarious. What hokey dialogue! I don't know how the actors got through those scenes without breaking down in laughter.

On the other hand, I'm loving Dante and Felicia. What chemistry! I hope Brad Bell can see this couple's potential.

Saturday, May 13, 2006

Ummm ... Strange Day

I wasn't moved to post yesterday and today's soaps barely had a pulse really.

One Life to Live

Dan Gauthier is doing a fine job with the material that he has been given in this atrocious storyline. Kevin buries yet another son. Poor dude.

The Bold and Beautiful


I'm officially exhausted by the repetition of the Stephanie/Ridge/Brooke merry go round. However, I find Felicia and Dante's suddenly budding relationship hot and very interesting. How will Bridget react?

As the World Turns


I was glad to see Mike out of jail. Loved the intimate reception that he and Katie enjoyed. There are definitely hints that Nick is far more involved in the mysterious death of Maya Gold that he is letting on.

TPTB (the powers that be) have gone over the top with Paul Ryan. I watched incredulous as he attempted to pressure Emily to have an abortion. What were they thinking here?

The Young and Restless


What was Dru thinking treating Daniel with such disrepect? He is a good kid who loves her daughter. Plus, I love Daniel and Lily as a couple, even if they are too young to be married. There is something compelling and sweet about their relationship.

I felt really bad for Sharon today. She seemed to be barely holding it together as she experienced her first Mother's Day without her daughter.

Tuesday, May 09, 2006

Weird Soap Day ...

One Life to Live

My skin is still crawling from Kelly and Duke's lovemaking, but I have to comment on the aftermath of the tornado. It really seemed like they were trying too hard with the couples of the moment, John/Natalie and Chris/Evangaline. Does this car accident mean that Tessica and Antonio bond? Because I've just about had enough of shrewish Tess.

As The World Turns

Wow, another stirring day in the Snyder household as Lily must confront her son's sexuality and the lies and deceit that he and her husband have enaged in over the last few months. I liked the realism of the dialogue and the performance by the actors. Lily was bewildered and shocked by Luke's revelation that he was gay, that her husband suspected and said nothing. Great stuff. I hope we get more tomorrow.

At first I was totally grossed out by Mike and Katie doing "something" in the Oakdale PD interrogation room, but then it was so hot that I was blown away. Katie actually looked like she was riding Mike. I can't remember when last time that I saw so much tongue on a soap opera. Nice work by Mark and Terri.

It is official that Paul Leyden who played Simon, Katie's ex-husband is returning to ATWT for at minimum of 6 months so the rocky road continues for Mike and Katie. I'd be surprised if they are still together by December. Ah, the short term life of soap marriages. It is just like real life, unfortunately. LOL!

The Young & the Restless

The way that Brad was looking at Sharon as she walked down the aisle at the wedding, I really had to wonder who he was planning to marry. I am convinced that he loves Sharon, but is totally into Victoria's money.

Day 2 of the Winters Family Crisis and it was wonderful soap drama. Neil's outrage against Dru's fear only for Lily to rush in and spill the beans. Can you believe that Victoria Rowell (Dru) is 46 years old on May 10th, 2006? The woman is stunning.

The Bold & the Beautiful

I finally saw a spark between Dante and a woman today and it was Felicia. When he touched her scar, there was definitely chemistry. I was stunned that Brad Bell actually let Felicia have a scar.

Can Brooke please get over her Stephanie obsession? Brooke is a skank who had sex with the woman's husband and two sons. How can Brooke expect Stephanie to respect her?

Monday, May 08, 2006

They're Alive!

Wow, finally an eventful day in Soap Land!

As the World Turns

Luke comes out! Van Hansis who plays Luke has done a wonderful job portraying the tormented Luke. Finally, pushed by Jade's sexual advances to his father, Luke refuses to continues the lies and deception and comes out to both his parents. The scenes were poignant and thoroughly enjoyable.

The aftermath of Mike's arrest continued today. As the incompetent Oakdale PD strikes again, Katie is in denial. It amazes me how they can never catch the guilty or keep them in jail only the innocent. However, watching Mike and Katie's friends and family rally around them was moving. Mike and Katie's scenes where they comforted and supported each other were particularly sweet and painful as Mike was taken away. Mark Collier who plays Mike had a 5 o'clock shadow so I'm guessing it was a long day of filming. LOL!

One Life to Live

I really enjoyed Michael and Marcie's wedding today. The bride and groom were finally the focus as their family and friends joined in celebrating their marriage. They had all the tradition wedding rituals like the toast, the first dance, the cutting of the cake and the garter belt. I wasn't particularly fond of Marcie's singing, but it worked.

Despite the attempts to make him seem unreasonable, I was completely on Antonio's side as he demanded that the baby (have they even named her yet?). Tessica is mentally ill. I don't understand how anyone would allow her to take custody of a baby.

The big sweeps event was the tornado. I wasn't sure what to think about it, but it definitely furthered the new pairing of Chris and Evangaline. I love the soaps, but there are moments where I have to wonder if writers have lost their minds. I had that exact thought as I watched Kelly have sex with her former step-son. Talk about stomach churning stuff.

The Young and the Restless

Neil now knows that Malcolm is Lily's father. At first, I was stunned that Neil didn't believe Dru about having sex with Malcolm while she was drugged, but then I realized that her story is quite incredulous. Would anyone believe what happened? It didn't help that she didn't tell Neil right away.

The Bold and the Beautiful

Susan Flannery was wonderful as usual as she worried over Ridge's condition. I can't believe that she is buying into Ridge's guilt trip about Brooke.

How old is Katherine Kelly Lang? The woman still has a great body, but her undressing for all these different men has gotten old.

For once Bridget was wise as she decided to take things slowly with Dante as they have absolutely no chemistry. I am hoping for a Felicia/Dante hook up.

Sunday, May 07, 2006

This is May Sweeps?

The soaps have got to heat up for May sweeps, right? Just not yet, I guess.

As the World Turns

I loved Mike and Katie's wedding. It was full of humor and very entertaining. Mike looked handsome and Katie was a beautiful bride, but isn't she always? LOL! I was unsure about Henry's officiating, but the whole wedding came off very well. I liked that it was a small affair. For once, there was a soap wedding where everyone in attendance should have been there. Mike and Katie's vows were very moving. Of course, Jack arrests Mike right after the ceremongy. In true soap style, the marriage won't last long, but at least Mike and Katie had their moment and their fans like myself were rewarded for our devotion.

One Life to Live

I've been a long time fan of Michael and Marcie's and was looking forward to this wedding, but I simply could not enjoy it as much as Mike and Katie's wedding on ATWT. The show focused more on the storylines swirling around the wedding than the bride and groom who seemed like afterthoughts.

Kevin and Kelly's big fight and the on going Tessica drama are really downers. I'm not enjoying OLTL at the moment.

The Bold and Beautiful

Has Ridge lost his mind? Or should I say the writers? His rant about Stephanie coming between him and Brooke is ridiculous. Ridge is the one who chose other women over Brooke all these years not Stephanie. By the time Ridge collapsed, I just glad that he shut up.

The Young and Restless

What is with Nikki's miraculous recovery? The woman was shot and is getting out of the hospital already? Gloria and now Kevin are simply distasteful. At least, Colleen seems to be coming to her senses.

I'm not looking forward to Neil finding out that Malcolm is Lily's father. I just hope the writers haven't forgotten that Dru did not deliberately cheat on Neil.

General Hospital

I was surprised to see John Bulger as the new mayor. He and Alexis have a spark. I hope the plan is to hook these two up because he is a good actor and will be perfectly matched with Nancy Lee Grahn.

I like Patrick as much as the next person, but all those women fantasing about him was a bit much to take.

Wednesday, May 03, 2006

A Diagnosis, A Corporate Takeover and a Shooting!

Guiding Light

Reva had her "Inside the Light" episode. I actually like these episodes that focus on one character. I thought Reva's diagnose and her reaction were very poignant. I wish TPTB didn't go for the soap cliche of Reva not telling Josh. It is undermines the telling of a really good story.

The Young and the Restless


Are we really supposed to believe that a man of Victor's age could take out a mugger like he did today? What, was the mugger 60 years old? LOL! Poor Nikki. Perhaps if Victor wasn't so over eager, she would have been alright.

Colleen is acting like spoilt brat. Phyllis and Sharon need to give it a rest. Nick isn't all that. Gloria, I wanted even deader after today, if that is possible.

The Bold and the Beautiful


I enjoyed Nick's take over of Marrone Enterprises. Who knew that he had it in him? The looks on Massimo and Ridge's faces were priceless.

Days of Our Lives

I totally support Hope doing Patrick. Bo's stupidity when it comes Billie and Chelsea would push any sane woman over the edge.

Can some please stop the madness that is Jennifer and Frankie? They did NOT have some grand love affair years ago. They weren't anything more than a teen romance.

As the World Turns

Any day with Mike shirtless is a good day for ATWT. Very nice. Why did Mike go to the police station without an attorney? Who in their right minds would trust the Oakdale PD to get it right? Why didn't he tell Katie. I was happy that Carly and Katie made up. They are my two favorite characters on ATWT.

Can we please go ONE day without Emily/Paul/Meg? At least, we didn't have to deal with Dusty and Jennifer as well. Paul sudden care for Emily really got on my nerves today. He is a destroyer of women: Rose, Rosanna and now Emily. Meg is watching her future in that hospital room.

Tuesday, May 02, 2006

Much Ado About Nothing!

Ummm, nothing much happened today in Soap World. It is hard to believe that it is May Sweeps.

The Young & The Restless

Every time I think that Victor can't get any more obnoxious, he proves me wrong. He was talking to Nikki as if she was some scrub off the street not his wife.

I'm about ready to slug Gloria in the face at this point. She is whining that Jack will always consider her trash. Given her behavior, how is he wrong?

The Bold & Beautiful

Brooke and Nick did deed! They are doomed for sure now.

All My Children

Julia and Jamie?! What an odd pairing. Lily is too young for Jonathan. I don't care what she or anyone else says, Jack is right.

One Life to Live

This "Todd on death row" has got to wrap up soon. It is making me crazy. I have always liked Paul Satterfield (Spencer), but I don't see a way for him to remain on the show when his crimes are revealed.

Guiding Light

I love Coop and Lizzie's scenes. Sure she knows that Jonathan is the father and she is manipulating Coop, but when Ava isn't stalking them, they have real chemistry.

I hate when Soaps hire the overweight sidekick like Ashlee. The actress and the audience deserve better.

Well, that is it for now.

Monday, May 01, 2006

Slow Day in SoapLand!

Some random thoughts.

One Life to Live

Tess and Jessica giving birth. Is this some kind of joke? The worse birthing scene ever on the soaps. Between the refusal of the actress to open her legs to simulate giving birth and the terrible acting of her and the two fathers, I just cringed.

Days of Our Lives

Wow, that Sami and Lucas kiss was steamy. I am always amazes about how much chemistry Sami and Lucas have when they are together than with their current mismatched partners. Carrie and Austin are the most boring couple. No wonder Lucas and Sami are sacrificed to prop them up. Frankie and Jennifer as a couple make my skin crawl. Why does Reilly hate the wonderful Matthew Ashford?

As the World Turns

How high is that cliff everyone keeps jumping/falling off? They all survive! I keep hoping the day comes sooner than later that TPTB figure out that the Hal/Emily/Paul/Meg/Dusty/Jennifer storyline sucking up so much air time is like poison to this show. I just want to shout out to Emily, "he is just not that into you, get over it!"

Let's get some storyline movement in the much more interesting Luke coming out storyline, the teens romantic triangle, and Mike and Katie's upcoming nuptials and ruby/skeleton mystery. Yeah, Mike and Katie are getting married at last! I love this couple. Mark Collier (Mike) is just gorgeous. Also, while I'm composing my wish list how about Tom and Margo get their own storyline? Send them off on an adventure somewhere.

Well that's it for now.